Gallipoli Art Prize

Gallipoli Art Prize

The Anzac Centenary Art Prize project

Application Form for 2024:  Gallipoli Art Prize website 

 The concept of conducting art prize competitions in both Australia and Turkey to commemorate the legacy of those heroes who fought on the Gallipoli Peninsula in 1915 was conceived in 2004 and developed during 2004-2005.

The first official announcement of this project was made on 15 April 2005 by the then Prime Minister of Australia, the Honorable John Howard MP, of the intention to conduct the art prize competitions in Australia and Turkey.

The project has achieved over a decade of successful competition due to the wonderful support from:

Artists in Australia, New Zealand and Turkey; and Governments and Communities in Australia and Turkey.

For information relating to the Canakkale Art prize competition in Turkey, visit website

Previous winners:

Winner 2024: “The Pity of War” by Luke Cornish

Winner 2023: “Ray’s Room” by Andrew Tomkins

Winner 2022: “Along the ride to Damascus” by Deirdre Bean

Winner 2021:  “Forgotten Heroes” by Geoff Harvey

Winner 2020:  “Breathe” by Alison Mackay

Winner 2019:  “War Pigeon Diaries” by Martin King

Winner 2018:  “Mont St Quentin” Steve Lopes

Winner 2017:  “The Sphinx, Perpetual Peace” Amanda Penrose Hart

Winner 2016: “Yeah, Mate” Jiawei Shen with his painting

Winner 2015: “Boy Soldiers” by Sally Robinson.

Winner 2014: “Gallipoli evening 2013” by Idris Murphy.

Winner 2013: “Dog in a Gas Mask” by Peter Wegner.

Winner 2012: “Trench Interment” by Geoff Harvey.

Winner 2011: “Sacrifice” by Hadyn Wilson.

Winner 2010: “The dead march here today” by Raymond Arnold.

Winner 2009: “Smoke/PinkLandscape/Shovel” by Euan Macleod.

Winner 2008: “Max Carment, War Veteran (The last portrait)” by Tom Carment.

Winner 2007: “Glorus Fallen” by Lianne Gough.

Winner 2006: “Ataturk’s Legacy” by Margaret Hadfield.

Please click below to view the latest Art Prize catalogue and catalogues from previous years:

Catalogue 2024 Art Prize

Catalogue 2023 Art Prize

Catalogue 2022 Art Prize

Catalogue 2021 Art Prize

The Gallipoli Art Prize Organising Committee annually invites any eligible artist to submit a painting for the Gallipoli Art Prize, which will be administered by the Gallipoli Memorial Club Limited (the “Club”) and under the control of the Gallipoli Art Prize Organizing Committee.

Prize money of $20,000 is awarded to the artist of the winning entry subject to the conditions below. The acquisition of the work and its copyright remain property of the Gallipoli Memorial Club Museum Fund.

The Gallipoli Art Prize will be awarded to the artist who best depicts the spirit of the Gallipoli Campaign as expressed in the Club’s “Creed”.

The Club’s Creed is:

We believe that within the community there exists an obligation for all to preserve the special qualities of loyalty, respect, love of country, courage and comradeship which were personified by the heroes of the Gallipoli Campaign and bequeathed to all humanity as a foundation for perpetual peace and universal freedom.

Each competitor must either have been born in Australia, New Zealand or Turkey or hold Australian, New Zealand or Turkish citizenship.

Each competitor may, at their expense, submit one piece of original work produced in either oil, acrylic, water-color or mixed. The term of reference to be used is the spirit of the Gallipoli Campaign as expressed in the Club’s Creed.